DOJO DIRECTORY

6,001 Dojos in UK, 33,442 Total
Helping people find Dojo since 2004
Currently online: 3349 Visitors

Reviews of Bushido Shotokan Karate - Lisburn

This page shows Reviews & Testimonials of Bushido Shotokan Karate - Lisburn in Lisburn, UK. 40 Reviewer rated Bushido Shotokan Karate - Lisburn as Excellent. Read detailed reviews below.

If you are familiar with this school, please share your experience and help your local Martial Arts community.

Submit your Review

Average Rating: Excellent (40 Reviews)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent

40 out of 40 Reviewer recommended Bushido Shotokan Karate - Lisburn.

The best thing I’ve ever learned

Mar 07 2020 by Kes G (Former Student with 6 Months - 1 Year Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

This place transformed me from constantly absent minded person to some one who always knows what to do next and never forget things, plus I’ve became fitter. I mean, then going to ordinary gym or other kind of sport for example boxing or athletics, you will become fit, but in here you can achieve peace of mind and train not only your body but most importantly mind.

Currently I do not have enough time be there every training session, but in near future I’m most definitely going back.


Still going strong 👊

Mar 05 2020 by Panda (Active Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

When I first submitted a review of this dojo, I was overwhelmed by how welcome I was made by Sensei Stephen, Instructor Gillian and my fellow students.

Almost 2 years have passed and I’m proud to identify myself as part of the Lisburn Bushido Shotokan family.

I couldn’t recommend this dojo enough. A great place to learn, get fit physically and mentally, and to make new friends.

I’m looking forward to what the next 2 years will bring with this club.


(1 of 2 People found this review helpful)

Fabulous Karatte training at Lisburn

Mar 05 2020 by Ajay (Active Student with Less than 1 Month Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Excellent Karatte training sessions. Friendly and great interactive sessions.

Highly recommended.


Super karate school, would highly recommend!

Mar 05 2020 by Julie (Parent of a Student with 6 Months - 1 Year Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

My little boys loves this class, really looks forward to going! Loves to come home and show his new techniques.


(1 of 1 People found this review helpful)

Welcoming and friendly

Mar 05 2020 by smaccarthy (Parent of a Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

My boys love attending, Stephen and Gillian have been so good with them and made them feel at ease right away. They really look forward to lessons and I know they will continue to attend for the foreseeable future.


(1 of 1 People found this review helpful)

It is awesome for people who want to learn karate

Mar 05 2020 by Matthew (Active Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Very Good
Recommended:
Yes

The club is well organised, helpful and exciting. It wanted me to keep on doing karate. I would definitely recommend this club to others


(1 of 1 People found this review helpful)

Best place to learn karate with family...

Mar 05 2020 by Santhosh.... (Active Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Best place to learn New skills every class. ..100% recommended for new starters. .


Excellent, family friendy dojo

Mar 05 2020 by R Ramsden (Active Student with 3 - 5 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

A superb, family friendly dojo, welcoming to all. Stephen is a fantastic sensei, accomodating of all levels of ability as long as you are willing to make the effort.

Whether you're interested in the technique or just want to improve your fitness, you'll definitely see the benefits of joining. I've been attending for three years now, and my health and flexibility have improved dramatically.

And as a bonus, punching stuff is a great way to de-stress!


Best Karate Place in NI

Mar 05 2020 by Shibu (Active Student with 3 - 5 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Excellent classes. Learn your basics, improve your skills, polish your techniques - you get all support.


Consistently Excellent Karate School

Mar 05 2020 by CMCC (Active Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

We've been training with Bushido Lisburn for just over two years now. It's a fantastic, family friendly club for all levels. Everyone is welcome -- whether you want to train for fitness, to switch off from work or to compete. It has a superb dojo. The sensei is knowledgeable, articulate and patient -- always manages to get the balance right between pushing students to improve and keeping karate fun!


A good place for karate

Mar 05 2020 by J topping (Parent of a Student with 6 Months - 1 Year Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Very Good
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I have two daughters that go and they both love it and look forward to going. One of my daughters has a disability with her arm and this doesn't matter here as she's treated the same but gets the help she needs if she struggles. I am so glad I have got them to join and they are more confident and it gives them things to push and achieve for.


Great club, great atmosphere

Mar 05 2020 by Jim (Active Student with 6 Months - 1 Year Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Been training at the club for a little over six months and as soon as i walked through the front door i knew i had made the right choice, come give it a go, you won't regret it


Top class Karate coaching .

Mar 05 2020 by Emmet (Parent of a Student with 6 Months - 1 Year Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Excellent facilities and teaching/coaching. My little boy really loves this class!


Best around to study martial arts

Mar 05 2020 by S Totten (Active Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Having studied shotokan as a kid, it was very nerve racking getting back into it after all these years, from the second I walked in the door I was made to feel part of the team, the instructors are amazing, there are no egos or any look at me's, it's a fun energetic and amazing dojo who I would recommend to anyone, the hardest part is walking through the door, once you do you will never look back


Great sensei and very welcoming students

Mar 05 2020 by Eamonn (Active Student with 1 - 3 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I have recently joined the school and have really enjoyed the approach from Sensei and others. I am new to the whole karate experience and have been made to feel welcome.


Really good place to learn Karate

Mar 04 2020 by V Bohans (Active Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Excellent teaching methods, friendly community and a great and motivating teacher.

Would recommend this to anyone


Wonderful experience in everyway .

Mar 03 2020 by A.E (Active Student with 6 Months - 1 Year Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

If your feeling flat body and mind give this a try it will take over your life, you can only have respect for anyone who teaches this amazing form off self defense, Sensi Stephen told me at the start you get out what you put in and that's a fact. His style of teaching is patient, warm and deadly all rolled into one . I started at the age of 52 and it's changing my life in many ways . Meeting new friends, getting fitter mentally and physically in one big family Amazing place, give it a go . Have to give Gillan a mention of course, she's a fun warm person you wouldn't want to mess with .


Bushido Shotokan in Lisburn is a great place to study Martial Arts

Sep 11 2019 by Jim (Active Student with 1 - 3 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

After a break of many years from training i started with the club about six weeks ago, found the club online and a quick phone call with Sensei Stephen was all it took. I was instantly made to feel welcome by everyone and you get a great sense of family. The standard of instruction is second to none with time and patience taken to get you to the level you need to be, if you're looking for a home in Karate this is it.


(1 of 1 People found this review helpful)

A great place to learn and develop your martial art skills.

Sep 10 2019 by Gretchen (Active Student with 6 Months - 1 Year Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I have been looking for a karate class for a while since I came to Northern Ireland. When a friend recommended me to Bushido in Lisburn, I got hooked. Sensei Stephen and Gillian have made me feel very welcome from day 1 (esp that I am not used to going to classes by myself). With time, I feel like the team is a big happy family. The support everyone gives each other is great. They don't only teach you karate but above all discipline. Whether you are looking to learn karate and krav for fitness purposes, self defense, enhancing your sporty side or you simply want to socialise, this group has it all. The group comprises of a wide range of age group so you won't be left out and they focus on every individual goals throughout the training. I highly recommend Bushido karate in Lisburn in all aspects from the instructors, facilities, training styles, dojo, and students. Amazing team!


A must need in life karate, dojo, mental wellbeing,family

Sep 10 2019 by Shauna (Parent of a Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

If your reading this just go best wee club about, so family friendly, great coaches with plenty of wisdom from both aspects in life and the martial arts side. . Stephen has a special gift its one to watch and Gillian is amazing with her krav willpower and wonder woman techniques. . My son and husband both attend the club and changed their lives around so much to learn and its never ending so much to learn. Best thing you will do and the dojo family its unique


(1 of 1 People found this review helpful)

Never too old to have a go!

Dec 05 2018 by R Jackson (Active Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

So I started Karate at 42 years young.

It was the best choice I have made (to be fair it was my wife that signed us up initially)

This club and its instructors Sensei Stephen and Gillian have a wealth of experience which they take time to share with the students regardless of age or ability.

This is a family club with fantastic facilities and people from all walks of life which I think is fantastic

I take every opportunity to tell others about the club - do come along and give it a try

The dojo code is simple - Character / Respect / Dignity / Effort / Self Control

Give it a go - you won’t regret it


(1 of 1 People found this review helpful)

Great Karate - Bushido Shotokan

Nov 01 2018 by Shibu (Active Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Excellent dojo. .. great experience. .. I have been a member for last one year. And my children also joined. We all enjoy the Karate. I recommend it for all the grades. Highly motivating instructors. Everyone can enjoy irrespective of the age or grade. Wishing Bushido Shotokan Karate all the very best.


(1 of 1 People found this review helpful)

Come and start Karate!!

Oct 30 2018 by Squint (Active Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I started Shotokan Karate for the first time in July 2018 because I've always wanted to learn a martial art since I was a boy. After about 20 years of procrastination or so I was invited to Bushido Shotokan Lisburn and thought why the hell not!

What i've experienced from day one here is nothing but top class instruction from sensei Stephen and Gillian. The patience and attentiveness they show in classes tells you that they have the experience and mindset to see where you need improvement, and importantly to let you know when youre doing well. Regardless of your ability, height, weight, age, race or gender, you are treated fairly and pushed to reach milestones to make you fitter, more confident and importantly how to defend yourself.

If you're looking for a change in your life either physically or mentally then it's a great dojo to start your journey.


(1 of 1 People found this review helpful)

A fun place to study martial arts

Oct 30 2018 by R Sampaio (Active Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

We are very glad to be back. A good family environment.

Good teaching methods that lead us to learn karate in a way that always challenge us and motivate us to do better.


(2 of 2 People found this review helpful)

Never too late to start something new

Jul 10 2018 by Panda (Active Student with 1 - 3 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

After reaching a milestone in age I decided to make a few changes to my lifestyle. The decision to start learning a Martial Art was a big step for me as fitness was not my forte.

Bushido Shotokan, Lisburn has literally transformed me physically and mentally.

At the time of posting this I have been attending regularly for just over a month, but from day one I was welcomed and felt part of the Bushido Shotokan family.

So much so, my young daughter has noticed the change and she now attends.

If you want to learn Karate and enjoy the journey it takes you on then this is the place to be. Credit to Sensei Stephen and Gillian, they have certainly instilled the love for Karate to many generations. Long may it continue.


(5 of 5 People found this review helpful)

AWESOME CLASS AND SENSIE

Mar 12 2018 by shauna k (Parent of a Student with 1 - 3 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

My 8 year old recently started this club & its the highlight of his weekend he loves it, he's quite shy but this club has really helped him come out of his shell. The classes are amazing . Sensei Stephen & Of course Gillian make the class so fun but serious at the same time, great way for kids to learn, shows them respect and fun. My son tells all his friends about his classes and how much fun he has, I can see him hear for many years. The new dojo is just outstanding the team have put so much work in. The class is well planned out and great way to keep fit and toned. Its suitable for all ages, and also families, everyone has a smile on their faces, This club is a credit to Sensei Stephen and i'm so glad i came across this club. They have made my son a very happy boy. he is already looking to the future with them and looking forward to moving up the belts. Keep up the amazing work you guys do!!


(2 of 2 People found this review helpful)

Family Friendly Club with Outstanding Instruction

Feb 19 2018 by CMCC (Active Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

This is a friendly and very professional karate club. The standard of instruction is outstanding no matter what level you're at. All the instructors are patient and encouraging -- they explain and demonstrate things well. The family class is great fun -- well structured and welcoming. There is always a proper warm up. Karate is excellent exercise (no matter your age or fitness level). And it's fab to have an activity that parents and children can learn together.


(2 of 2 People found this review helpful)

Fantastic family club

Oct 14 2017 by LM (Active Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

My son was asking to go to karate for about a year, but he is extremely shy in new environments. He was made welcome from the off and his confidence is building visibly week by week. He has just done his Frist grading up in front of the chief instructor with great confidence. My husband and I also attend and find it a great way to spend time together whilst doing some exercise. Stephen is a great instructor and the feel in the club is of support and family. Absolutely brilliant!


(2 of 2 People found this review helpful)

Excellent training for all

Sep 05 2017 by G kennedy (Active Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

My son started for a year and he loves it sensei Stephen is brilliant in what he does . Now me and my daughter do it and are really enjoying it .


(2 of 2 People found this review helpful)

Like the terminator. I'll be back

Dec 23 2016 by Gerardyboy (Active Student with Less than 1 Month Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I had a brief stint at this club and unfortunately due to injury during my own personal training I had to postpone attending classes. My time at the club was very enjoyable. For someone like me who is older and needs a bit more "attention" the sensei was a great teacher, patient and very knowledgeable. Once I am back fit again I will be back.


(2 of 2 People found this review helpful)

A club for everyone with excellent tuition

Dec 21 2016 by GaryC (Active Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I joined the club four months ago. Was made to feel extremely welcome by Sensei Stephen and the rest of the members. I have learned so much in that short time. An excellent club and I wish I'd joined years ago. Gary


(2 of 2 People found this review helpful)

Learning karate while having fun

Dec 20 2016 by C. Moore (Parent of a Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

My child has been attending the lisburn shotokan karate club for several months now and loves it. Sensei Stephen and the great team off people he has around him, have found the perfect balance between teaching great karate in a fun way. All different ages, both male and female, attend the classes and nobody feels out of place. Cant fault the club, and my little boy continues to look forward to each class. Keep up the good work guys.


(2 of 2 People found this review helpful)

Karate -discipline and fun

Dec 20 2016 by C-M-L (Active Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Very Good
Recommended:
Yes

Joined the club over a year ago with my children. It has been great for my children seen seeing senior grades training with them and learning together. For a beginner like me, the club has been very open and helpful. I thought it would be a good way to do exercises but the instructors have showed me to love Karate! The training sessions are great fun and hard!. Everybody feels very welcome !


(2 of 2 People found this review helpful)

A white belt is already a belt ahead of you sitting on the sofa !! OSS

Aug 22 2016 by Gill X (Active Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I recently started shotokan karate ! And I must state how effective and realistic shotokan is !

I cross train in other martial arts and find it exciting and challenging .

The instructors are second to none and make you feel part of a family no matter what grade !

So if your just starting out or want to get back into it plus get fit lol go for it, any age all men women and children should Learn how to defend themselves and there is no better way than lisburn shotokan karate school . Honoured to be part of Lskc and JKA Ireland, the hosts of the Word karate championships 2017 in Iteland !! OSS


(1 of 1 People found this review helpful)

A superb club that combines learning with fun

Aug 22 2016 by DJ (Familiar with the School , No Personal Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Lisburn shotokan Karate club is a superb club for anyone at any level wanting to learn the art of shotokan karate. The instructors are dedicated and passionate about teaching while making it fun and enjoyable. There are lots of courses organised regularly and the opportunity to progress is greatly encouraged.


(3 of 3 People found this review helpful)

Looking for camaraderie?

Aug 22 2016 by Twist (Active Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

If you are looking for a friendly, inclusive group who really care about you and your progress, there is no better bunch than the Lisburn Karate Club.


(2 of 2 People found this review helpful)

Great club family oriented

Apr 23 2016 by Bri&Lee. (Active Student with Less than 1 Month Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Great club to learn and train at all levels, instructors are so dedicated to the students and so help full to all new starts like myself and son .


(4 of 4 People found this review helpful)

Great traditional karate club

Mar 09 2016 by R Allen (Active Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

This is a great karate club affiliated to the Japan Karate Association whose headquarters are in Tokyo. This is important because it means that this is a club that can trace its lineage right back to the great Okinawan masters and to the very roots of karate. The instruction is first class and delivered in friendly and very helpful manner. The club has a tremendous and non threatening training environment, with a good mix of kids and adults. I thoroughly enjoy my training with Lisburn SKC, and am delighted to be a member of it.


(4 of 4 People found this review helpful)

Lisburn Shotokan Karate Club

Mar 08 2016 by Paul (Active Student with 1 - 3 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I enjoy training at lisburn SKC, I currently hold my 2nd Kyu grade and am in training for my 1st Kyu grading.

My longevity within this club is due to the fact of the family nature within this club it's members are a lovely group of people.

The younger students are lively and fun to train with, and us older students all get along well.

The training is varied into Basics, Kata and Kumite, with specific Influence on movement and power

It has a great array of days it holds classes including Mondays, Thursdays and Saturdays.

The Instructors are precise and are great Karateka in their own rights.

All in all an amazing club with good foundations in Traditional Shotokan Teachings.


(5 of 5 People found this review helpful)

Great family friendly club.

Mar 08 2016 by Zandra (Active Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

If your looking for a club that teaches not just karate but also respect, confidence, and is child friendly, then this is the place for you and/or your child.

The club is very well run, you know the instructors want to help you, and improve your training. You'r encouraged to excel in the sport side competitions if you choose too and supported by the whole club. Very welcoming place. Come along and join the family.

Write a Review

Martial Arts in Lisburn

Top Martial Arts in Lisburn, UK

This Chart shows the Martial Arts Styles offered most in Lisburn, UK area. View a list of Dojo in Lisburn, or enter your address below to find schools closest to you.